Maryland State Police Trooper Injured in Collision with Drunk Driver
Maryland State Police arrested a 47-year-old driver for driving under the influence (DUI) and other traffic offenses after he crashed into and injured a state trooper on patrol, according to an article by WJLA.
This car accident occurred at approximately 2:50 p.m. on January 12, 2018. At that time the 47-year-old driver did not yield properly while driving south on North East Road in North East, Maryland. After seeing the infraction, a state trooper attempted to pull over the driver. But the driver ignored the state trooper and kept going.
The chase did not last long. The driver lost control and smashed into another Maryland State Police patrol car on Pulaski Highway, injuring a trooper in the process. But state troopers caught up with the driver on Hickory Drive.
While the driver awaits his day in court, it seems like an ideal time to review Maryland laws and penalties for DUI offenses.
How Does Maryland Define DUI Offenses?
As detailed in Code of Maryland 21-902, it is illegal to drive a car in Maryland while under the influence or impaired. Under Maryland law, intoxication can come from any combination of alcohol, legal drugs or illegal drugs. If the driver is incapable of driving safely, then Maryland DUI laws can come into play.
From an alcohol standpoint, Maryland sets a legal limit of a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08. If a driver registers a BAC of 0.08 or higher, they are legally intoxicated and subject to DUI penalties in Maryland.
That being said, Maryland does employ a “zero tolerance” policy for underage drinking. If a driver is under 21 years of age, the legal limit becomes a BAC of 0.02. Any underage driver who registers a BAC of 0.02 or higher can face DUI penalties in Maryland.
How Does Maryland Penalize DUI Offenses?
In the interest of public health and safety, Maryland enacted strict penalties for DUI offenses. Furthermore, the penalties escalate sharply for subsequent offenses, making it vital to adhere strictly to legal requirements.
If a driver is convicted of DUI in Maryland, the penalty structure is as follows.
- First Conviction can lead to 12 months in jail and $1,000 in fines as well as a suspended license for at least 180 days.
- Second Conviction can lead to 24 months in jail and $2,000 in fines as well as a suspended license for at least 12 months. After the suspension period concludes, the driver will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device.
- Third Conviction can lead to 36 months in jail and $3,000 in fines as well as a suspended license for at least 18 months. After the suspension period concludes, the driver will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device.
Let Us Help You Today
If you are dealing with charges for DUI or other traffic offenses, it can be helpful to consult with a proficient criminal defense lawyer. The lawyers at Iamele & Iamele, LLP in Baltimore, Maryland, know how to navigate charges for DUI or other traffic offenses. If you need legal counsel concerning criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.