Close Menu

Man Faces DUI Charges in Caroline County for Hitting Police Car

DUI2

A Delaware man faces charges for driving under the influence (DUI) in Caroline County, Maryland, after hitting a state police patrol car, as reported by WBOC.

This traffic accident occurred near Route 3:13 and Bridgetown Road at approximately 2 a.m. on October 28, 2017. At that time, a state trooper was outside of his patrol vehicle, investigating a potential DUI. Out of nowhere, a black Nissan hit the police car and smashed the side mirror on the driver’s side. The black Nissan did not stop after the collision.

State troopers caught up to the black Nissan shortly thereafter. The Delaware man was driving and seemed intoxicated. As a result, troopers arrested the man. Currently held on a $10,000 bond, the Delaware man faces charges for DUI and driving on a suspended license.

To fully grasp the consequences of this news development, we need to examine Maryland laws for DUI and driving on a suspended license.

How Does Maryland Deal with DUI?

We can find the definition and penalties for DUI under Code of Maryland 21-902. In simple terms, Maryland makes it illegal to drive a car or other motor vehicle while intoxicated. Intoxication in Maryland can be the result of alcohol, drugs or some combination of both. Maryland employs a limit of a 0.08 blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) to define legal intoxication.

If a person violates Code of Maryland 21-902, the penalty structure is as follows:

  • The first conviction can result in fines of $1,000, suspension of driving privileges for six months, jail time up to one year and 12 points added to the person’s driving record.
  • The second conviction can result in fines of $2,000, suspension of driving privileges for one year, jail time up to two years and 12 points added to the person’s driving record.

How Does Maryland Deal with Driving on a Suspended License?

We can find the definition and penalties for driving on a suspended or revoked license under Code of Maryland 16-303. In short, Maryland makes it illegal to drive a car or other motor vehicle with a suspended or revoked license.

If a person violates Code of Maryland 16-303, the penalty structure is as follows:

  • The first conviction can result in fines of $500, jail time up two months and 12 points added to the person’s driving record.
  • The second conviction can result in fines of $2,000 and jail time up to two years.

Contact Us for Professional Help

Dealing with criminal charges for DUI or driving on a suspended license can lead to severe consequences. The lawyers Iamele & Iamele, LLP in Baltimore, Maryland, have a thorough appreciation for DUI, driving on a suspended license and other facets of criminal law. Contact us today for help.

Resource:

wboc.com/story/36511330/hurlock-man-arrested-for-dui

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus

Contact
Information

201 N. Charles St., Suite 400
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-779-6160
Email Us: Aiamele@IameleLaw.com

Office
Directions

Office Directions | Map
Free Parking at 222 St. Paul Parking Garage (Entrance is on Lexington Street)

Free Initial
Consultations

Personal Injury, Medical Malpractice, Auto, Truck and Most Accident cases are accepted with no fees or expenses to the client.

MileMark Media - Practice Growth Solutions

© 2017 Iamele & Iamele LLP. All rights reserved.
This law firm website is managed by MileMark Media.

Contact Form Tab