Hit and Run Car Accident in Maryland Results in DUI Charges
A man from Hebron, Maryland, faces criminal charges for driving under the influence (DUI) after causing an accident and fleeing the scene, according to an article by ABC affiliate WMDT.
This car accident occurred at approximately 8 p.m. on October 21st near 507 North Main Street in Hebron. At that time, Maryland State Police troopers and Wicomico County Sheriff’s deputies responded to reports of a potential hit-and-run DUI accident and property damage.
When they arrived at the scene of the accident, law enforcement found the Hebron man’s license plate on the victim’s property. After law enforcement tracked him down, they observed signs of intoxication. Following standard sobriety tests, law enforcement arrested the Hebron man and charged him with DUI.
While the Hebron man waits for the legal case to progress, it seems like an optimal chance to review Maryland laws against and penalties for DUI.
What are the Maryland Laws Against DUI?
Maryland Code of Transportation Section 21-902 provides the state laws against DUI. From a general standpoint, Maryland law prohibits any person from operating a motor vehicle while impaired and incapable of driving safely. More specifically, impairment under Section 21-902 can come from the consumption of:
- Pharmaceutical Drugs;
- Controlled Substances; or
- Any combination of alcohol, pharmaceutical drugs, or controlled substances.
The ability to drive safely is the most important function of Maryland DUI laws. The moment a person loses the ability to obey traffic laws and maintain safe driving conduct, there is a serious risk of DUI charges and the criminal penalties described in the next section.
How Does Maryland Punish DUI?
Section 21-902 also details the punishment for DUI under Maryland law. In many cases, the applicable punishment depends upon the number of previous offenses, if any. For example:
- First Offense — Upon conviction, the offender can face a prison sentence between two months and one year as well as criminal fines between $500 and $1,000;
- Second Offense — Upon conviction, the offender can face a prison sentence between one and two years as well as criminal fines between $500 and $2,000;
- Third Offense — Upon conviction, the offender can face a maximum prison sentence of five years and criminal fines up to $5,000; and
- Fourth or Subsequent Offense — Upon conviction, the offender can face a maximum prison sentence of 10 years and criminal fines up to $10,000.
It is vital to note that Section 21-902 also establishes a separate penalty structure for DUI offenses committed while transporting a minor passenger. In these cases, the DUI offender can face even more time prison and larger fines.
Let Us Help You Today
If you need legal help with DUI charges stemming from a car or truck accident in Maryland, it can be extremely productive to reach out to a well-informed Baltimore criminal attorney. The attorneys at Iamele & Iamele, LLP in Baltimore, Maryland, understand how to mount an effective criminal defense strategy in various situations, including DUI charges stemming from a car or truck accident. If you need legal help with a criminal defense or personal injury case, contact us today for a free initial consultation.