Maryland Man Causes Accident While Drunk Driving on a Revoked License
A Milford man may face charges for DUI and a traffic offense after causing a single-vehicle crash in Hebron, reported ABC affiliate WMDT.
Maryland State Police troopers responded to this car accident at approximately 5:30 p.m. on Sunday, December 16th. Near Route 50 and Hebron Woods Boulevard, the Milford man lost control of his pickup truck and smashed into a pole off the road.
After responding to this incident, the state troopers arrested the Milford man and took him to the Wicomico County Detention Center. As a result of this car accident, it seems likely that the Wicomico County District Court Commissioner will press formal charges against the Milford man.
While the Milford man waits for the legal process to play out, it seems like an ideal opportunity to review Maryland laws and penalties for driving on a revoked license and DUI.
Driving on a Revoked License in Maryland
Under Maryland Code of Transportation Section 16-303, it is unlawful to operate a vehicle without legal driving privileges. Specifically, Maryland law prohibits any person from operating a vehicle while their privilege to drive is:
- Refused in Maryland or any other state;
- Canceled in Maryland or any other state;
- Suspended in Maryland or any other state; or
- Revoked in Maryland or any other state.
The penalty scheme for a violation of Section 16-303 is as follows:
- First Offense — The driver can face 12 months in prison and $1,000 in criminal fines; and
- Second or Subsequent Offense — The driver can face 24 months in prison and $1,000 in criminal fines.
Driving Under the Influence or While Impaired in Maryland
Under Maryland Code of Transportation Section 21-902, it is unlawful to drive under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drive while impaired (DWI) by alcohol or other substances. In precise terms, Section prohibits any person from operating a vehicle while:
- Under the influence of alcohol;
- Impaired by alcohol;
- Impaired by any pharmaceutical drug or a combination of pharmaceutical drugs;
- Impaired by any controlled substance or a combination of controlled substances; or
- Impaired by a combination of alcohol, pharmaceutical drugs or controlled substances.
The penalty scheme for a violation of Section 21-902 is as follows:
- First Offense — The driver can face 2 to 12 months in prison as well as between $500 and $1,000 in criminal fines;
- Second Offense — The driver can face 12 to 24 months in prison as well as between $500 and $2,000 in criminal fines; and
- Third or Subsequent Offense — The driver can face 36 months in prison and $3,000 in criminal fines.
Additionally, Maryland law provides for increased penalties if the drunk driver was transporting a minor during the offense. In those circumstances, both the prison time and criminal fines exceed the levels outlined previously.
Let Us Help You with Your Case
If are facing criminal charges for DUI/DWI or driving on a revoked license in Maryland, it can be tremendously valuable to consult with an established criminal defense attorney. The attorneys at Iamele & Iamele, LLP in Baltimore, Maryland, know how to defend against these types of charges as well as other aspects of criminal defense. If you need legal help, contact us today for a free initial consultation.