Close Menu

Maryland Man Causes Power Outage While Driving Under the Influence

DUI5

A Maryland man faces charges for driving under the influence (DUI), driving on a revoked license and driving without a license, after nearly colliding with police and then crashing into a utility pole, according to an article by WBOC.

The 45-year-old man in question blasted through a stop sign and almost collided with a Maryland State Police cruiser. Shortly thereafter, the man lost control of his vehicle and smashed into an electrical pole. Although a minimal power outage resulted from this traffic accident, there was not significant damage to person or property.

In light of this news development, we should review Maryland laws concerning DUI, driving on a revoked license and driving without a license.

What is the Maryland Definition for DUI? 

Code of Maryland 21-902 provides the state-specific definition for DUI. Essentially, Maryland defines DUI as operating a vehicle with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more. If convicted of this offense, individuals can face the following penalties:

  • First Offense – Offenders can be assessed $1,000 in fines, six-month suspension of driver’s license, one year in jail and 12 points on the driver’s license.
  • Second Offense – Offenders can be assessed $2,000 in fines, one-year suspension of driver’s license, five days to two years in jail and 12 points on the driver’s license.

What is the Maryland Definition for Driving on a Revoked License? 

Code of Maryland 16-303 provides the state-specific definition for driving on a revoked license. Essentially, it is a crime in Maryland to operate a vehicle with a revoked or suspended driver’s license. If convicted of this offense, individuals can face the following penalties:

  • First Offense – Offenders can be assessed $500 in fines, two months in jail and 12 points on the driver’s license.
  • Second Offense – Offenders can be assessed $2,000 in fines and two years in jail.

What is the Maryland Definition for Driving Without a License? 

Code of Maryland 16-101 provides the state-specific definition for driving without a license. Essentially, it is a crime in Maryland to operate a vehicle without a valid driver’s license. If convicted of this offense, individuals can face the following penalties:

  • First Offense – Offenders can be assessed $500 in fines, 60 days in jail and five points assessed to driver’s license.
  • Second Offense – Offenders can be assessed an additional $500 fine and up to one year in jail.

Do You Need Legal Counsel from a Skilled Criminal Defense Lawyer? 

Whether you are dealing with DUI, driving on a revoked license or driving without a license, it can be a harrowing road to recovery. Between loss of driving privileges, harsh fines and even jail time, these charges can turn your life inside out. By consulting with a skilled criminal defense lawyer, however, you can put yourself in a position to fight the charges effectively and push toward a positive result. The Maryland attorneys at Iamele & Iamele, LLP are eager to help you today; don’t hesitate to reach out to us for a consultation.

Resource:

wboc.com/story/36511330/hurlock-man-arrested-for-dui

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus

Contact
Information

201 N. Charles St., Suite 400
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-779-6160
Email Us: Aiamele@IameleLaw.com

Office
Directions

Office Directions | Map
Free Parking at 222 St. Paul Parking Garage (Entrance is on Lexington Street)

Free Initial
Consultations

Personal Injury, Medical Malpractice, Auto, Truck and Most Accident cases are accepted with no fees or expenses to the client.

MileMark Media - Practice Growth Solutions

© 2017 Iamele & Iamele LLP. All rights reserved.
This law firm website is managed by MileMark Media.

Contact Form Tab