Car Insurance Regulations in Maryland
Almost every day, car accidents lead to many instances of bodily injury, death and property damage across the State of Maryland. In order to decrease the burden of these dangerous incidents, all car owners and drivers must have liability coverage through a valid car insurance policy.
Does Everyone Need Car Insurance in Maryland?
According to a breakdown from the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA), Maryland is a mandatory vehicle insurance state. This means that all drivers must obtain valid insurance — with the proper levels of minimum coverage — in order to register their vehicle in Maryland. Furthermore, the vehicle insurance company must have a license to operate in Maryland.
What is the Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in Maryland?
Maryland law requires every insured driver to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance for potential car accidents. At an absolute minimum, Maryland car insurance policies must include the features below:
- Single Bodily Injury or Death — Maryland requires a minimum of $30,000 in coverage for a single bodily injury or death caused by the insured driver;
- Total Bodily Injury or Death — Maryland requires a minimum of $60,000 in coverage for multiple bodily injuries or deaths caused by the insured driver; and
- Property Damage — Maryland requires a minimum of $15,000 in coverage for property damage caused by the insured driver.
What Happens When a Driver Moves to Maryland?
When a driver moves to Maryland from a different state, they must secure valid insurance with at least minimum coverage. Otherwise, that driver will not be able to register their vehicle in Maryland.
In most cases, the driver can simply contact their existing insurance company and ask to switch to a Maryland policy. But as noted previously, the insurance company must have a license to operate in Maryland. Otherwise, that insurance company will not be able to provide policies to Maryland drivers.
What Happens if a Driver Moves Out of Maryland?
If a driver moves to a different state, the Maryland registration and car insurance requirements no longer apply. Ideally, the driver should return their Maryland license plates before canceling their car insurance policy.
If the driver does not return their plates, they should contact the MVA to provide several pieces of information, including:
- Maryland tag and title numbers;
- Insurance policy effective and termination dates; and
- Title and registration information from new jurisdiction.
What are the Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Maryland?
Despite the Maryland requirements for car insurance, there are many drivers who did not carry a valid policy. Referred to legally as uninsured motorists, these drivers can face serious penalties under Maryland law, including hefty fines.
Specifically, there is a $150 fine for the first 30 days of driving without valid insurance. After the first 30 days, there is a $7 for each additional day without valid insurance. Uninsured motorists can face up to $2,500 in fines per vehicle per year.
Contact Us Today for Help
If you were involved in a Maryland car accident and have unresolved legal questions, it can be highly useful to speak with a trustworthy Baltimore personal injury attorney. The attorneys at Iamele & Iamele, LLP in Baltimore, Maryland, have proven experience in the arena of personal injury law, including car accident liability. If you need legal help, contact us today for a free initial consultation.