DUI & DWI Charges Assessed for Maryland State Police Trooper
A Maryland State Police trooper faces DUI and DWI charges after crashing into a passenger vehicle, according to an article by CBS Baltimore.
The trooper was driving a state police vehicle late on a Sunday in Cecil County when he slammed into the rear of a passenger vehicle. The driver and child passenger escaped without severe injury, receiving minor treatment at a medical facility.
As a result of this traffic accident, the trooper also faces charges for DUI, DWI failure to control speed to avoid a collision, reckless driving and negligent driving. The trooper was also suspended from police duties.
Considering the impact of the present news story, it feels like a great time to review Maryland laws concerning DUI and DWI.
What is the Maryland Definition for DUI?
Maryland defines driving under the influence (DUI) as driving with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or higher. The penalties for DUI charges in Maryland are as follows:
- First Offense – Offenders face loss of driving privileges for six months, fines of $1,000, one year in prison and 12 points assessed to driver’s license.
- Second Offense – Offenders face loss of driving privileges for one year, fines of $2,000, five days to two years in prison and 12 points assessed to driver’s license.
Repeat offenders face additional penalties, including use of an ignition interlock device and participation in an alcohol abuse education program.
What is the Maryland Definition for DWI?
As compared to DUI, driving while impaired (DWI) is a lower-level offense. DWI charges generally apply to drivers whose BAC is 0.07 or higher. The driver may be technically under the legal limit. But the driver displays other signs of intoxication or impairment, such as driving recklessly or failing a sobriety test.
The penalties for DWI in Maryland are as follows:
- First Offense – Offenders face loss of driving privileges for six months, fines of $500, two months in prison and 8 points assessed to driver’s license.
- Second Offense – Offenders face loss of driving privileges for one year, fines of $500, one year in prison and 8 points assessed to driver’s license.
Repeat offenders can face escalating penalties for DWIs, including situations with children riding as passengers.
Do You Need Legal Counsel from a Knowledgeable Criminal Defense Lawyer?
Whether you are dealing with DUI, DWI or other criminal charges, the process can seem hopeless. Steep penalties and jail time have drastic consequences for your freedom. There is also a terrible stigma that comes with a DUI or DWI. Thankfully a knowledgeable criminal defense lawyer can help protect your rights and fight for a positive outcome.
Headquartered in Baltimore, Maryland, the lawyers at Iamele & Iamele, LLP are knowledgeable in matters concerning DUI, DWI and criminal law. With demonstrated experience handling such cases, we can help you resolve DUI, DWI or other criminal charges. If you need legal counsel, please do not hesitate. Contact us at your earliest convenience for a free initial consultation. You can also reach Iamele & Iamele, LLP by calling 410-779-6160, by faxing 410-779-6161 or by filling out an online form.